To be completely honest, this book scares the daylights out of me. Germs and viruses have always made me eerie, and to read about factual cases is terrifying. However, it has been a very intriguing read and though my stomache is dropping half of the time out of disgust, I enjoy reading it. The most fascinating story I read was actually the first one about Monet. The telling of how he sat on the airplane with the black vomit (YUCK!) and infected everyone at the hospital he went to was very shocking to me. It opened my eyes how extreme the virus really is. Also the mystery of the virus to the doctors made it even scarier as the unknown typically does. The mother in the story who chose to risk her, as well as her family’s life as far as I’m concerned, was crazy. I don’t understand how someone could do that! Then the stories of uncleanly practices at hospitals are also scary. Overall, the Ebola virus and all of it’s strands truly terrify me, but I do take interest in learning information about them. That is as close as I will ever get to them though! I learned the severity and toxicity of the virus by reading part one. I’ve always known Ebola could be deadly but I didn’t realize how serious it really was and how quickly it could spread. I learned that the best way to stay safe is to stay clear because it travels through blood and the one strand in the level 4 hot room was transferred through air. My only question is, how does a virus like this originate? I know it comes from a host, but does it originate inside the host or as a single molecule? And I mean the very first Ebola strand, since it is “not living or alive” how did it come to be?

