Wow. This novel does a wonderful job of imagery. I must say I did not have any trouble picturing the severity and results of the Marburg or Ebola virus in the human body. Also, this novel has caused me to be vigilant of what I touch and how often I wash my hands.
At the start of the book, I was hooked by the character of Charles Monet and his adventure in the cave. The questions the author asks “Did Monet put his and the ooze” attracts so much attention. You have the urge just to continue wondering if the Marburg virus is within the ooze and what will happen to Monet. You are enticed to continue reading. The vivid details of the reaction from the virus flowing throughout Monet’s your bodies are flat out mortifying and I feel as if I was actually watching a movie. Continuing Monet’s journey, when he was at the hospital and the doctor who helped him came in contact with Monet’s blood was jaw dropping because in the end he did not receive the virus. Why not? There are so many questions that pop into my mind when I was reading this book. Nancy, the pathologist who works with the Ebola virus kept me on my toes. As I was reading I believed that she was going to be infected with Ebola. She seemed so careless about the cut on her hand from preparing dinner. You wonder why she wasn’t so careful. Although she did where a suit and multiple layers of gloves she could have been more careful with her open wound on her hand. Accidents can always happen and it happened it Nancy Jaax. She was lucky to not have been infected with Ebola.

It’s amazing and mind boggling to me that there were actual viruses out there in the world that kills 9 out of every 10 people it comes in contact with. Though I hope the outbreak of a highly deadly virus never happens in the US, I can’t help to wonder what actions would be taken to ‘cure’ the infected citizens. This is a great book and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

