I absolutely love this book. It is so easy to read because it keeps you on your toes. I love how it has personal stories of people with Ebola or Marburg and it explains how each one of them starts showing symptoms and then how they crash and burn. The book is very descriptive which makes it easy to picture what is happening. I feel like i am watching a movie in my head sometimes because the picture of what is happening is so clear. I also like how it explains how they perform animal testing to try to learn more about the viruses. This book is probably one of my favorites because it is a mix between science and medicine…My two favorite things. I have learned that Ebola and Marburg are very serious viruses and they are highly contagious. I learned that the viruses are airborn and also can spread through bodily fluids which I thought was unique that it could be spread both ways. I have also learned that viruses do not normally kill their natural host, which I thought was kind of interesting. I have also learned that figuring out what causes the virus is quite a task. The Hot Zone has taught me that you need to take precautions when working with any blood because it might be infected with a hot agent. The blood may look fine but secretly it is begging to attack someone else. I am still wondering what the natural host of the viruses are, and how they came to be. I want to find out how Charles Monet and Peter Cardinal both got the virus from going inside the cave, but when the hot zone team went in to find out what had caused it they found nothing. This book is driving me crazy because I want to figure out how all these people are connected, but just can’t seem to get it. Hopefully part two will give me some answers!

