I have to begin with the fact that this book has begun to get even more detailed in the way people die of the disease and it literally makes me sick at points. However, this is what makes the story very interesting and keeps me reading at all times. This book really makes me never want to visit the poorer parts of Africa. It also made me question what the government is keeping from us and how the could think that not informing the people of America about this is okay. And how the CDC and the military were trying to pull ranking was a bit absurd. Why wouldn’t you think that the ranking was important when the WHOLE nation was potentially at risk? Also when Nancy Jaax and Gene Johnson  didn’t publish a paper about the risk of Ebola being able to transfer through air just because Gene couldn’t write well was a very unsettling reason on why they didn’t publish it. One thing that I thought was especially interesting about this part was the electron microscope and how they tested for different viruses.  I had no idea that they kept samples from the first victims of these viruses, and I thought that it was disturbing that they referred to Ebola as resembling such seeming harmless items such as food like spaghetti and cheerios.  I also found it interesting that infected cells look as if they have crystals within them yet it was really the cell bursting from the seams. The walls could no longer hold the virus and therefore “popped” which led to more infected cells. What  I do not understand is why Geisbert and Jahrling did not tell the colonel that they had whiffed the virus when they knew they could have very well spread the disease. Why did they fear the Slammer so much more than potentially having the ability to kill a nation?

