For starters this book still makes me sick to my stomach with its extremely detailed, gruesome descriptions, but I do have to say that the story line is becoming most intriguing.  This book is definitely a page turner.  So far this book has made me cross Africa off my list of places to visit, made me a bit skeptical of caves and question whether or not the U.S. actually has a plan for a deadly outbreak of this magnitude.  It concerned me that Dalgard worked with monkeys at Reston’s monkey house yet had no idea about Ebola Zaire.  How can you work with animals that have the potential to be carriers of a virus such as Marburg and not know about its close cousin Ebola? Also, the fact that Nancy Jaax and Gene Johnson knew that Ebola can spread through the air and not publish a paper because Gene cannot write well is a ridiculous excuse for keeping pertinent details quiet about an extremely deadly virus.  I also do not understand how the Army and the C.D.C. would try to pull rank while there is a potential outbreak of a deadly virus on U.S. soil.  How can they pull rank and involve politics while our nation is essentially at risk?  One thing that I thought was especially interesting about this part was the electron microscope and how they tested for different viruses.  I had no idea that they kept samples from the first victims of these viruses, and I thought that it was interesting that they referred to Ebola as resembling food such as spaghetti and cheerios.  I also found it interesting that infected cells look as if they have crystals within them yet it really because the cell is about to burst due to the virus.  I do not understand why Geisbert and Jahrling did not tell the colonel that they had whiffed the virus.  They knew that they stood a chance of spreading a deadly virus with a nine out ten death rate, yet the feared the “Slammer” much more?  This book is really good despite its unpleasant details and I’m looking forward to part three!

