Cellular Respiration!

Cellular respiration is the set of the metabolic reactions and processes that take place in the cells of organisms to convert biochemical energy from nutrients into adenosine triphosphate (ATP), and then release waste products. Although this is a fake flower, if it were real, it would definitely go through cellular respiration.

Territorial Behavior!

This is Gracie ❤ She is exhibiting territorial behavior over her dog bed AND especially over her blanket! By chewing on it and leaving behind her scent, she is marking her “territory.”

Long-Day Plant!

 And long-day plant is a plant that flowers only after being exposed to light periods longer than a certain critical length, as in summer. An example of this would be lettuce!

Gibberellins!

 Gibberellins are plant hormones that regulate growth and influence various developmental processes, including stem elongation, germination, dormancy, flowering, sex expression, enzyme induction, and leaf and fruit senescence. Cherries are generally sprayed with gibberellins 3 – 4 weeks before harvest!

Endotherm!

This is Cupcake and she is an endotherm because she is an organism that produces heat through internal means, such as muscle shivering or increasing of metabolism.

THE HOT ZONE: PART 2!

Okay, enough is enough. I shall sugar coat no more — I genuinely dislike this book. Is the content of the book interesting? …sure. Is it something that I enjoy reading? NOT. AT. ALL. The fact that this strand of ebola zaire is just chillin’ at the monkey house in VIRGINIA is just terrifying. It’s an eye opener to just realize that such a virus could be so close. Sure, Virginia is around 900 miles away from Texas, however, since this virus is AIRBORNE the chances for it to travel a great amount of distance isn’t necessarily low. I do admire the people who risk their lives in order to research this deadly virus. I know that if I were put into that situation, I would just cry and leave, haha. I’m surprised at the level of personal issues that are intermingled with the story. You would think that with a book dealing with Ebola, human relations would be the last thing to worry about. Well, thanks to this book, I am never going to hug a monkey…not that I planned on it, but just in case the opportunity comes to pass in the future… Unlike everyone else, I am NOT looking forward to the rest of the book~

P.S. I posted a day late D; Sorry! Just came back from a trip in Glaveston 🙂 I know it shouldn’t have been, but AP Bio was pretty much in the back of my mind, haha. Love ya’ Vandyyy ❤

