Unicellular Organism!

Here is BREAD~ I know you’re thinking, how is bread a unicellular organism? It isn’t…HOWEVER, in bread, there’s yeast! If you haven’t guessed where I’m going with this, then pay close attention. Yeast is used to make bread and it is also a unicellular organism, or an organism that consists of only one cell. So, because bread has yeast, it shall serve as a representative for unicellular organisms in my post!

Mycelium!

 Sorry, there was a lack of actual mushrooms at my disposal, so here is a can of cream of mushroom soup to represent mushrooms! Mycelium is the vegetative part of a fungus, consisting of a mass of branching, thread-like hyphae. Now, mycelium can form fruiting bodies such as mushrooms.

Lipid Used for Storage!

A lipid is a fatty or waxy organic compound that is readily soluble in non-polar solutions. Oil, such as the ones shown in the picture, is a lipid used for energy storage in animals.

Eubacteria!

 Yogurt contains eubacteria which turns milk into yogurt after the process of fermentation has occurred. Eubacteria  typically has simple cells with rigid cell walls and often flagella for movement.

Bilateral Symmetry!

 So, as I was pondering the wonders of biology and took a picture of bread, I decided that I would make a sandwich, because pondering on an empty stomach is unhealthy for the mind! AND THEN the bio Gods struck me with insight and I realized that my sandwich had bilateral symmetry; meaning the right half is a mirror image of its left half! What a discovery indeed.

