Part 4 of The Hot Zone was a very appropriate conclusion to this thrilling novel.  I was glad to see the author decided to take the risk and travel to Kitum Cave himself to better understand the mystery and danger surrounding the cave.  It was also fitting for the author to revisit the monkey house and see what was left of it.  Preston’s description of the desolate monkey house was very eerie to me.  Again I appreciated Preston’s vivid details about his travels to Mount Elgon and the deserted monkey house.  However, I feel he ended the novel with a lot of unanswered questions.  Such as what became of the characters who dealt with Ebola Reston.  Also I find it hard to believe that no one in the world has been able to find a cure for these deadly viruses.  All in all, this was a very well written novel with a good plot, and the last line saying, “It will be back” sent chills down my spine.

