Asexual Reproduction

If I were a cell and I wanted to reproduce asexually, this is how I would do it! Split in half and BAM, there’s my offspring. Asexual reproduction is a mode of reproduction by which offspring arise from a single parent, and inherit the genes of that parent only.

ATP

In plants, ATP produced through cellular respiration in the mitochondria and photosynthesis in chloroplasts.Its functions are for intracellular energy transport for various metabolic processes including biosynthetic reactions, motility, and cell division. It is also used as a substrate by kinases that phosphorylate proteins and lipids, and by adenylate cyclase to produce cyclic AMP.

Biological Magnification

Biological magnification , is the increase in concentration of a substance, such as the pesticide DDT, that occurs in a food chain as a consequence of : persistence (can’t be broken down by environmental processes), food chain energetics, low (or nonexistent) rate of internal degradation/excretion of the substance (often due to water-insolubility). Fertilizer is a substance that is used to induce biological magnification.

Dominant VS. Recessive

Here is a picture that compares me to my brothers. You can see the many similar qualities we have; that is a result of the inheritance of dominant genes. As you can also see, I’m the only one who has dimples. That is a result of recessive genes that somehow only I received. (AND IT ALSO MEANS I’M THE CUTEST ONE IN THE FAMILY ;D)

Ethylene

Ethylene  is a gaseous organic compound with the formula C2H4. Salt is an example of ethylene.

Eukaryote

A eukaryote is an organism whose cells contain complex structures enclosed within membranes. Humans and other animals fall into the category of a eukaryote. Rocky here, is no exception!

Genetic Variation Within a Population

 Here is a population of asians; specifically my childhood friends + my brothers! ❤ Some are related to each other, others not. Within this population you can see some similarities between everyone, but there is VARIATION. That is due to the fact that not all of us carry the same genetics.

Homologous Structure

Structures that are embryologically similar, but have different functions, are called homologous structures. The human arm is an example of a homologous structure. Excuse the similarity my arms have to that of a noodle.

Parasitism

Here is Lam and Lutricia; two of my childhood friends. Every year they make a bet on who’s going to win the super bowl and whoever loses the bet must become the….”female dog” of the other person until the next super bowl. This past year, Lam won and ordered Lutricia to get him a soda. In this relationship, Lam is the only one who benefits at the expense of Lutricia. One could say this is a parasitic relationship.

Prokaryote

The prokaryotes are a group of organisms that lack a cell nucleus, or any other membrane-bound organelles. It is possible to get E. Coli (which is a prokayote) from raw, ground beef.

Rhizome

  Rhizome is a characteristically horizontal stem of a plant that is usually found underground, often sending out roots and shoots from its nodes. Ginger is an example of a rhizome.

r-strategist

 In unstable or unpredictable environments, r-selection predominates as the ability to reproduce quickly is crucial.  Traits that are thought to be characteristic of r-selection include: high fecundity, small body size, early maturity onset, short generation time, and the ability to disperse offspring widely. Fish fall into this category.

Seed Dispersal (Wind)

The wind that is blowing my hair is one way that seeds can be dispersed throughout the area. That makes the wind a form of seed dispersal. The wind is also great for pseudo-model shoots.

Segmented Body

A segmented body is a body divided into segments that are often grouped into larger functional units. These meal worms are an example of organisms who have segmented bodies.

Vestigial Structure

 A structure in an organism that has lost all or most of its original function in the course of evolution. The muscles connected to the ears of a human are an example because they do not develop enough to have the same mobility allowed is they were monkeys.

THE HOT ZONE: PART 4(ENDING)

IT’S FINALLY OVER. Thank goodness, that’s another thing to cross off my to-do list. I can’t believe he actually went to Kitum Cave! That’s so crazy, the last thing I would do is the visit the very source of where EBOLA was found. I think he’s stupid, but I do see and understand the admirable aspect of the author going there to explore. There was that little scare where it seemed like he could have possibly been infected when he scrapped his hand on a rock. What is it with people in this book not being careful around deadly diseases? I don’t get it, seriously. It is a wonder as to why he also decided to travel to the quarantined facility in Reston too. I suppose his thirst for knowledge overrides his fear of lethal illnesses. I would like to think that the deteriorating facility is some sort of a symbolism for the death of the virus, however is could very well be the symbolism for its escape. This book ends on a peculiar state and we are still left hanging and wondering whether or not the virus was taken care of. It worries me that this could be real; then again, there hasn’t been any talk of an Ebola outbreak in the States for as long as I can remember. So, in the words of my “wise” freshman brother(what an oxymoron): “I ain’t trippin’.”

P.S. Umm, I hope I wasn’t the only one who had trouble posting this; this has got to be the 543543th time. ALL WEEKEND it didn’t work — Well, at least it finally posted my stuff. I blame my internet provider.

