In the last section of the Hot Zone, the author himself travels to Africa. He travels the same path Monet does and visited the summit that Ebola was first discovered. He worries that he may recieve the deadly virus, but his curiosity trumps his fears. At the end of the book, he produces a theory that may stand true. He suggests that the virus and all of its strains are merely defense meconisms of the earth. WIth the presnce of billions of people, innovations, and destruction of nature, the earth has created or brought about this illness to bring about a balance. The author concludes that the virus is just the begining. It would come back.

I think this book is amazing! Now after reading this, I feel more informed about diseases and the reality of how close our civilization is to not just a new virus, but a population wipeout. I was not left with any questions at the end of the novel and I liked that a lot. I would reccomend this book to anyone. Thank you for making me read this Vandy!! ❤

